Wednesday, May 15, 2013


The Acorn-Plantos Award for Peoples Poetry is awarded annually to a Canadian poet, based on a book published in the previous calendar year. The work should follow in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, Plantos and others by being accessible to all people in its use of language and image.

The award is open to any living poet who is a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant. The work may be entered by the poet or the publisher. The award itself honours the poet.

The award consists of a medallion and a cheque for $500.00 CDN.

The deadline for entries published in 2012 is June 30, 2013 (received, not postmarked.)

To enter, send five copies and a cheque for $25.00 for each title to:

Acorn-Plantos Award
c/o Jeff Seffinga
36 Sunset Avenue
Hamilton ON L8R 1V6

For further information contact

Previous winners include Tim Bowling, Bruce Hunter, Chris Pannell, Brian Bartlett, Sharon McCartney, Christine Smart, Ronnie R. Brown, Laisha Resnau, and Erin Noteboom.